GHG Management

Carbon Footprint

In the face of the increasing impact brought by “climate change”, even if Sinyi Realty is not a major producer of carbon emissions as a brokerage service provider rather than a producer of physical goods, we are still working hard to manage the carbon emissions of our services. We are continuing to innovate and improve green services in respond to customer’s needs. In order to improve the reliability of the quantification of greenhouse gas emissions, we have implemented a systemic analysis and quantification of the environmental and economic benefits of our green services, which not only helps to plan sustainable development strategies, but also enable us to pass PAS 2050 verification in 2015. In addition, in 2016 we drafted the world’s first real estate operation services PCR to conduct product carbon emissions, thus obtaining Carbon Footprint Label of per real estate transaction, and also obtained the Taiwan’s first Carbon Reduction Label in real estate industry in 2017. Through optimizing carbon emission reduction projects, we have already reduced 45% carbon emission per transaction compared to the carbon footprint baseline. Therefore, in 2020 we received extension of Carbon Footprint Label and Carbon Reduction Label.

A carbon footprint is the sum total of greenhouse gas emissions produced directly and indirectly in the lifecycle of a product or activity, including the extraction and manufacture of raw materials, assembly, transportation, all the way to usage and waste processing or recycling.

In view of the lack of PCR documentation pertaining specifically to real estate operation services, Sinyi Realty set out to draft the first such rules in the world, providing a resource for others in the industry to refer to when calculating the carbon footprint of real estate operation services. Following the Environmental Protection Administration’s Guidelines for Carbon Footprint PCR Drafting, Citation, and Amendment, we invited domestic experts and stakeholders in the real estate business services field (including real estate agents, brokers, associations, and businesspeople) convening meetings with stakeholders and collecting opinions for the amendment of our draft PCRs. Not only have we established a model for real estate operation services globally, we have also helped harness Sinyi Realty's influence for the positive. After our Real Estate Operation Services carbon footprint PCRs were passed, they were announced on the Taiwan Product Carbon Footprint website.

Product-Category Rules─Real Estate Operation Services

In 2014, the Environmental Protection Administration launched their Carbon Footprint Reduction Label (also known as the Carbon Reduction Label), an advanced version of the Carbon Label. The product carbon footprints of Sinyi Realty’s real estate transaction that has received the Carbon Label was taken as the baseline for further reductions, and we were actually able to achieve our reduction targets ahead of time, receiving Carbon Reduction Label certification in 2017.

In 2019, our carbon emissions per real estate transaction were 307.03 kgCO2e calculated from the 2015 emission factor, which has already reduced 45% carbon emission per transaction compared to the carbon footprint baseline, that is, 562.77 kgCO2e in 2015. Thus, in 2020 we received extension of Carbon Footprint Label and Carbon Reduction Label from the Environment Protection Administration.


Services Carbon Footprint Inventory

Sinyi Realty has made reference to ISO 14067: 2018 for auditing. Our inventory of each real estate agency service began with real estate purchases, sales, and rental demand and went through the entire service process to final contract signing. Emissions of greenhouse gases thus produced and released into the atmosphere then serve as reference data for future efforts and plans to reduce GHG emissions. This inventory includes all GHGs set out in the IPCC 2013 Fifth Assessment Report, including carbon dioxide, methane, nitrous oxide, fluorocarbons, perfluorinated compounds, perfluoropolyethers, hydrocarbons, and other compounds controlled by the Montreal Protocol.

Service Map of Each Real Estate Brokerage Service (265.3 kgCO2e)  
Note 1: Production demands made with commissioned actors are considered personal behavior of clients and thus not within the scope of the inventory.
Note 2: Should an aforementioned service not provide service items, it is unnecessary to include it within the scope of the inventory.
ISO 14067 Product Carbon Footprint Verification Opinion Statement

Traditional brokerage service send DMs and paper dispatches to the mailboxes of community residents, made it difficult to accurately find potential customers and respond to their immediate needs. Through our carbon footprint inventory, we found that the greatest percentage at the materials input stage of our carbon footprint was in the form of paper dispatches and as such we have made reducing paper-based advertising materials a primary innovation target. We started the digital transformation, established a digital dispatches system, Line@ account, and launched “Top Agent App”, etc., so as to make a matching between products and customer’s needs more accurate. In 2020, we have launched “DiNDON-Smart House Viewing Service” to provide 3DVR modules of the house, so that customers can immediately get the size of its space online to screen suitable houses. Through this transformation, we can not only improve the efficiency and quality of our services, but also reduce the paper usage and waste. This is a win-win strategy that improves our operating competitiveness and contributes to the sustainability.

In order to further unveil the carbon footprint of each real estate transaction, we further applied for carbon labeling, helping consumers better understand our efforts to reduce carbon emissions and thus building trust in our brand. At the same time, this has also enabled us to analyze the carbon emissions of each stage in our service processes, finding the points of maximum consumption and facilitating the development and achievement of new green goals. We have already successfully obtained the Carbon Footprint Label for real estate brokerage services (Certificate No. 1616812001) in 2016, and the Carbon Reduction Label (Certificate No. R1716812001) in 2017. Through ISO 14067 Product Carbon Footprint Verification, we have already reduced 45% carbon emission per transaction compared with the 2015 carbon footprint baseline. Therefore, in 2020 we received extension of the Carbon Footprint Label and the Carbon Reduction Label, and these labels will be displayed in each branch.

PCR stakeholders meetings
PCRs-Real Estate Operation Services
Carbon label disclosure diagram for Sinyi Realty branches
“Real Estate Brokerage Services”
carbon labeling product information

Carbon footprint labeling (also known as carbon labeling or carbon emissions labeling) is a labeling that applies to the emissions of a company, its production processes, products/services, and individuals, indicating that all stages of the life cycle of a product or service, from obtaining of raw materials through processing, distribution, sales, end-user, and disposal/recycling, has had its GHG emissions calculated in terms of kilograms of carbon dioxide equivalent (CO2e) equivalent. From the Taiwan Product Carbon Footprint website.


Service Carbon Footprint Management Performance

In 2017, we calculated carbon emissions for each of Sinyi Realty’s real estate brokerage services, from the acquisition of raw materials to final service, finding a per-service average of 428.46 kgCO2e. We found that advertising paper and contract documents accounted for the largest proportion of the material input and had the greatest impact on the environment. As such, we set about starting from the source of the greatest emissions, developing innovative green approaches and thus reducing per-transaction carbon footprint, doing what we can to reduce our impact on the environment.

The results of our 2020 verification show that the carbon emissions per real estate transaction were 265.3 kgCO2e, of which the raw materials phase accounted for 50.56 kgCO2e (19.06%), the service phase 207.07 kgCO2e (78.05%), and the waste disposal phase 7.68 kgCO2e (2.89%). Compared with 2017 figures, we have reduced a total reduction in carbon emissions of 38.1%, thus achieving our 2030 goal of “achieving a 35% reduction in service carbon footprint by 2030.” (Base year: 2017).

As such, we redefined our goal, aiming for a further 45% reduction in service carbon footprint by 2030 (base year: 2017), and we hope that our continued efforts in this direction will bring positive change in terms of creating a “low carbon society.”

The Performance of Paperless in Sinyi Realty 

While calculating Sinyi’s emissions of carbon footprint, we found paper usage for marketing and contract documents constituted the largest proportion of the material input. Thus, we have implemented the paperless green services including a digital dispatches system, Line@ account, “Top Agent App” and “DiNDON-Smart House Viewing Service”. According to the carbon footprint verification in 2019 and 2020, since reducing paper usage in the service, the carbon emission at the materials input stage were reduced from 83.21 kgCO2e to 50.56 kgCO2e, a reduction by 39.24%.

Annual Paper
Usage
Reduced by
Paper Usage 2019 2020 Increasing rate (%)
Paper usage of per transaction (kg) 15.66 11.03 -29.56%
The proportion of total GHG emission (%) 21.26% 17.60% -

溫室氣體管理

碳足跡

隨著氣候變遷對全球各地影響劇增,近年來已演變為「氣候緊急狀態」而成為全世界共同面臨的嚴峻危機課題。面對環境劇變,信義房屋一直以來積極管理溫室氣體的排放,雖是以提供仲介服務而非生產實體商品的產業,且房仲業亦非排碳量大的產業,但仍積極落實產品/服務碳足跡碳排放及減碳管理。我們因應客戶需求研發各式綠色創新服務,同時為提升溫室氣體量化之可信度,進行系統分析並量化綠色創新服務帶來的環境與經濟效益,不僅有助於永續發展策略之規劃,也在2015年通過碳足跡PAS 2050查證。2016年制定全球第一份不動產經營服務碳足跡產品類別規則(PCR),並申請取得碳標籤,信義房屋也於2017年提前達成減碳目標,進一步申請取得減碳標籤。隨著近年我們致力於服務碳足跡減量方案,使得2019年服務碳足跡較2015年減量達45%,超過減碳承諾的減碳比例,而在2020年向環保署提出碳標籤及減碳標籤展延申請。

碳標籤碳足跡為一項活動或產品的整個生命週期過程所直接與間接產生的溫室氣體排放量,包含產品原物料的開採與製造、組裝、運輸,一直到使用及廢棄處理或回收所產生的溫室氣體排放量。

有鑒於國內外尚未有「不動產經營服務」碳足跡產品類別規則(Product-Category Rules, 簡稱PCR)文件,信義房屋率先制定房仲業全球第一份碳足跡產品類別規則,以供未來相關同業據以計算不動產經營服務碳足跡。我們依行政院環境保護署「碳足跡產品類別規則訂定、引用及修訂指引」規定之程序,邀集國內與「不動產經營服務」利害相關團體(如不動產仲介經紀、代銷公協會及業者等)及專家,召開利害相關人研商會議,共同審視修改草案。不僅為全球不動產經營服務樹立典範,亦發揮信義房屋對於產業的影響力。經審查通過的「不動產經營服務」碳足跡產品類別規則(PCR)已公告於「台灣產品碳足跡資訊網」。

「不動產經營服務」碳足跡產品類別規則(PCR)

環保署於2 0 1 4 年起推動碳足跡減量標籤(Carbon Footprint Reduction Label),又稱減碳標籤(Carbon Reduction Label),是為碳標籤的進階版。以信義房屋之產品─「不動產買賣仲介服務」之碳標籤證書所載的產品碳足跡做為減碳基線,已提早達成所宣告之減碳目標,於2017年取得減碳標籤。

信義房屋自申請碳標籤及減碳標籤以來,持續致力於服務碳足跡減量之各項措施與方案,使得2019年的服務碳足跡為307.03 kgCO2e(以減碳基線2015年碳排放係數計算),相較減碳基線2015年服務碳足跡562.77 kgCO2e,減量達45%,大幅超過減碳承諾之減碳比例;因應碳標籤與減碳標籤已屆期滿,將於2020年提出碳標籤與減碳標籤展期申請。


服務碳足跡盤查

信義房屋查證2019年服務碳足跡,引用ISO 14067 : 2018查證準則。我們盤查「每筆不動產仲介服務」自客戶產生不動產買賣、租賃之需求起,直至完成簽約之服務過程中,所產生並排放於大氣中之溫室氣體量,並藉此排放數據作為日後減少溫室氣體排放活動規劃之參考。盤查之溫室氣體種類包含IPCC 2013年第五次評估報告中所列之溫室氣體,如二氧化碳、甲烷、氧化亞氮、氟氯碳化物、全氟化物、氟化醚、全氟聚醚、碳氫化合物及蒙特婁議定書所管制之物質等。

每筆不動產仲介服務碳足跡-服務地圖(308.77 kgCO2e)  

註1:產生需求至委託間的行為係屬於顧客之個人行為,不納入盤查範疇
註2:若上述服務階段無提供服務項目者,則無須納入盤查範疇


由於傳統房仲業透過人力發送傳單、印製DM分送至社區居民信箱,卻難以精準找到潛在客戶及呼應客戶即時需求。為了增進減碳效益,信義透過碳足跡盤查,我們發現紙張用量在買賣交易原料投入階段的碳足跡佔比最高,因此持續將減少紙張用量設為重要創新目標,並啟動轉型數位行銷所發展出的創新,建立派報DM線上系統、透過數位社群平台生活圈(Line@、FB粉絲團)、數位App(Top Community App, Top Agent App)、Top EDM、3D互動看屋將房產物件資訊提供給客戶、也更精準媒合客戶所需的房產物件,有效提升媒合達成率。既提升客戶服務效率與品質、讓服務更及時,不只降低服務作業成本,更大幅減少行銷用紙及廢棄物、降低對環境衝擊,進而促成每筆仲介交易服務產生的碳排放因而減少,對社會環境有所貢獻,大幅提高企業競爭力,是個雙贏的策略模式。

為能透明揭示每筆不動產交易的碳足跡,我們向行政院環保署申請碳標籤,讓消費者能夠更清楚了解信義房屋在減碳方面的努力,進而提升對於品牌的信任感。同時也讓可分析服務過程中各項活動的排碳量,找出最大碳排放之活動點精進創新,有效達到綠色創新目標。繼2016年我們順利取得「不動產買賣仲介服務」碳標籤(碳標字第1616812001號)及2017年取得減碳標籤(減碳標字第R1716812001號),已陸續在各分店及行銷物上張貼碳標籤圖示。

2020年,因查證2019年服務碳足跡較2015年減量達45%,超過減碳承諾的減碳比例,而向環保署提出碳標籤及減碳標籤展延申請,並將陸續更新各分店及行銷物上碳標籤圖示。

※ 碳足跡標籤(Carbon Footprint Label),又稱碳標籤(Carbon Label)或碳排放標籤(Carbon Emission Label),是一種用以顯示公司、生產製程、產品(含服務)及個人碳排放量之標示方式,指一項產品或服務從原料取得,經過工廠製造、配送銷售、消費者使用到最後廢棄回收等生命週期各階段所產生的溫室氣體,經過換算成二氧化碳當量的總和。出自台灣產品碳足跡資訊網。


服務碳足跡管理績效 - 「低碳社會」的環保尖兵

我們計算2017年信義房屋「每筆不動產仲介服務」過程中,由原料開採至服務階段的單位服務碳排放量為428.46 kgCO2e。我們從服務過程中碳足跡的比重最高、對環境造成較大衝擊的部分進行創新精進,有效降低每筆交易的碳足跡,讓每筆透過信義成交的交易,都能對降低環境衝擊盡一份心力。

經由查證2019年服務碳足跡,每筆不動產買賣仲介服務的碳排放為308.77 kgCO2e,其中原物料階段83.21 kgCO2e (佔26.95%)、服務階段218.67 kgCO2e (佔70.82%)、廢棄物階段6.88 kgCO2e (佔2.23%)。與基準年2017年相比,我們共減少27.94%的服務碳足跡碳排放量,提前達成2025年服務碳足跡減少10%的目標 (基準年:2017年),成效顯著!*

*故我們重新訂定綠色目標,期望2030年每筆交易服務碳排放量能較基準年減少35% (基準年:2017年,428.46 kgCO2e),讓身為環保尖兵的我們,透過努力不懈的實際行動,帶動實現「低碳社會」的正向力量。

「關懷大地」精進無紙化服務與管理,提升資源使用效率 

信義房屋透過碳足跡盤查,我們發現服務用紙佔資源使用佔比最高,因此我們以減少服務用紙量作為綠色目標之一,持續推出綠色創新服務,如互動看屋、數位派報、Top Agent App、社群平台生活圈(TG、Line@、FB粉絲團)等,既提升客戶服務效率與品質、讓服務更即時,更大幅減少行銷用紙及廢棄物、降低對環境衝擊,同時也降低服務作業成本,進而大幅提高企業競爭力。根據查證2018及2019年服務碳足跡的資料,提供服務時紙張使用量的減少,使得原物料階段的碳排放量由136.78 kgCO2e減至83.21 kgCO2e ,下降39.17%。

單筆服務紙張
碳排放量減少
服務之紙張耗用(服務、不動產說明書、契據、廣告、派報) 2018年 2019年 年增(減)率(%)
單筆服務用紙量(kg) 26.17 15.66 -40.17%
佔服務碳足跡排放總量比例(%) 28.01% 21.26% -